About 1000 Words

1000 Words is a quarterly online magazine dedicated to the critical engagement with contemporary photography. It commissions and publishes exhibition and photo book reviews, essays and interviews in response to the visual culture of our present moment. Founded by Tim Clark in 2008, the editorial commitment has always been to explore the possibilities for the medium whilst stimulating debate around current modes of practice, discourses and theory internationally. Having recently released its 26th issue, it attracts an average of 140,000 unique visitors from more than 120 countries every month. 1000 Words was also nominated as Photography Magazine of the Year at the Lucie Awards in 2014 and 2016.

Editor in Chief
Tim Clark

Editor at Large
Louise Clements

Advisory Board
Simon Baker, Nicholas Barker, Norman Clark, Tim Clark, Louise Clements, Michael Grieve, Aron Morel, Camilla Zervoglos

Website Design
Anthony Salvador

Advertising Director
Ann-Marie Otto

Editorial Emiriti
Jenna Banat, Dominic Bell, Brad Feuerhelm, Michael Grieve, Sean Stoker, Robson Yee

Contributing Writers
Lesley A. Martin, Hannah Abel-Hirsch, Jesse Alexander, Peggy Sue Amison, Chloe Athanasopoulou, Gerry Badger, Simon Baker, Jenna Banat, Nathalie Belayche, Daniel C Blight, Simon Borthwick, Chas Bowie, Susan Bright, Ben Burbridge, Lewis Bush, David Campany, Christian Caujolle, Debra Klomp Ching, Federica Chiocchetti, Natasha Christia, Tim Clark, Tom Claxton, Louise Clements, Bridget Coaker, Jörg Colberg, Edwin Coomasaru, Charlotte Cotton, Alfredo Cramerotti, Joanna Cresswell, Lucy Davies, Janna Dyk, Elizabeth Edwards, Brad Feuerhelm, Joan Fontcuberta, Wayne Ford, Oliver Gapper, Jean-Kenta Gautier, Maggie Gray, Michael Grieve, Sean O’Hagan, Greg Hobson, Francis Hodgson, Max Houghton, Martin Jaeggi, Erik Kessels, Sara Knelman, Anouk Kruithof, Liz Kuball, Jeffrey Ladd, Robin Maddock, Gordon MacDonald, Katarzyna Majak, James McArdle, Alexander McSpadden, J. MacNeill Miller, Jeremy Millar, Sabine Mirlesse, David Moore, Michaela Nettell, Gemma Padley, Cara Phillips, Rachel Ridge, Anna Sansom, Aaron Schuman, Diane Smyth, Lucy Soutter, Ilaria Speri, Urs Stahel, Will Steacy, Sue Steward, Lisa Sutcliffe, Laura Vallés, Stefan Vanthuyne, Ivan Vartanian, Pedro Vicente, Oliver Whitehead, Val Williams, Eti Wade, Duncan Wooldridge

About our Director

Tim Clark is a curator, writer and editor. Since 2008 he has been Editor in Chief at 1000 Words. Previously Associate Curator at Media Space, The Science Museum in London, exhibitions he worked on included Julia Margaret Cameron: Influence and Intimacy (2015) and Gathered Leaves: Photographs by Alec Soth (2015-2018), a major, mid-career touring retrospective that travelled to The National Media Museum in Bradford, The Finnish Museum of Photography in Helsinki, FOMU in Antwerp and Deichtorhallen in Hamburg. He has also organised many exhibitions independently, most recently Peter Watkins: The Unforgetting at Webber Gallery (2017) and Rebecoming: The Other European Travellers at Flowers Gallery (2014), featuring works he commissioned by Tereza Zelenkova, Virgilio Ferreira, Lucy Levene and Henrik Malmstrom. Together with Greg Hobson he has curated Photo Oxford 2017, comprising of numerous solo presentations by artists such as Edgar Martins, Mariken Wessels, Martin Parr and Sergei Vasiliev and Arkady Bronnikov from The Russian Criminal Tattoo Archive among others. Clark has participated in conferences at The Library of Birmingham, Palau Robert Barcelona, Leipzig Museum of Contemporary Art in Germany and Musée de l’Elysée in Lausanne, Switzerland. His writing has appeared in FOAMTIME LightboxThe TelegraphThe Sunday Times, Photoworks and The British Journal of Photography, as well as in exhibition catalogues and books. Forthcoming texts includes an essay on The Teds by Magnum photographer Chris Steele-Perkins for Another Kind of Life: Photography on the Margins at the Barbican, which will be published by Prestel in spring 2018. He is also a visiting lecturer on the MA in Photography at NABA Nuova Accademia di Belle Arti Milano.