“1000 Words is a fantastic online platform engaged in pushing the boundaries of photography in both the consistent selection of interesting photographers and the intelligent, critical reviews.”
Yossi Milo, Director at Yossi Milo Gallery

“1000 Words is an invaluable resource for anyone interested in contemporary photography and one of the key places I go to in order to find out what is new and exciting. It helps keep me abreast of upcoming photographers and is consistently rigorous in its selection and insightful in its reviews. A real source of information and informed opinion.”
Sean O’Hagan, Photography Critic at The Guardian

“I would need more than 1000 words to explain how useful, enriching and easy it is to use and enjoy this magazine. The place to find out what is going on in photography and why!”
Cristina de Middel, Photographer

“1000 Words is one of the few online magazines I regularly visit. Its hallmarks are the consistency of its editorial selection in the work they choose to feature and in commissioning new writers to write about photography.”
Brett Rogers, Director of The Photographers’ Gallery, London

“1000 Words is undoubtedly the best source for writing on photography, with a sharp editorial sense and a stellar pool of writers.”
Aron Morel, Director of Morel Books

“A wonderful publication that beautifully brings together portfolios and essays from the arc of  photography.”
Charlotte Cotton, Curator

“A few words about 1000 Words. Tasteful, insightful and smart. And consistently and reliably so. Here’s to another ten years.”
Christian Patterson, Photographer

Since 2008, 1000 Words has tirelessly championed the art of photography and showcased the work of countless artists at critical stages in their careers. As a result, we have secured a reputation as one of the most trusted and critically-engaging spaces for photography outside of the conventional outlet of galleries and museums, books and print magazines.

But while access to the content is free, the labour, time and resources involved in its production are not. Please consider making a donation to support us in delivering our mission of publishing incisive yet accessible writing on photography. Donations help ensure that all 1000 Words contributors can be paid throughout 2018-19, while keeping readers informed and abreast of developments in contemporary photographic culture. Funds also go towards a variety of 1000 Words projects such as exhibitions, workshops, talks, awards, commissions and mentorship opportunities.

Become a 1000 Words supporter today!

1000 Words expresses its gratitude to the following individuals and foundations for their support as a result of fundraising efforts in 2012, 2014, 2016, and 2018:

Daniel Ali, Eman Ali, Ida Arentoft, Rafael Arocha, Anne-Marie Atkinson, Nick Ball, Thomas Ball, Shira Bar, Barbara and Zafer Baran, Bjarne Bare, Massimo Barberio, Beata Bartkevica, Maria Bellido, Martijn Berk, Nils Bergendal, Elisabeth Blanchet, Aija Bley, Honorius Bogdan Micu, Chloe Borkett, Simon Bowcock, Laura Braun, Laurent Breillat, Andrew Bruce, Gitte Brugman, Jan Brykcznski, Adam Buczek, Frederik Buse, Andrea Buzzichelli, Kitra Cahana, Briony Campbell, Trinidad Carrillo, Vicki Churchill, Alfredo Cramerotti, Oliver Curtis, Alessandra D’Innella, Michaela Danelova, David De La Cruz, Paola De Paola, Damien Del Sarto, Luc Dewaele, Chloe Dewe-Matthews, Pavlos Dimitropoulos, Daniel Donnelly, Maksim Djackov, Karl Henrik Edlund, Davin Ellicson, Kirk Ellingham, Elaine Ellman, Alice Evans, Alessandro Falco, Sarah Faraday, Virgílio Ferreira, Brad Feuerhelm, The De Groot Foundation, Jack Florish, Paula Gibson, Gianni Giosue, Pedro Goncalves, Paula Gortázar, Pavel Gospodinov, Claire Glasscoe, Nadja Groux, Gianluigi Guercia, Julia Gunther, Leslie Hakim-Dowek, Jukka Hakulinen, Druvis Haritonovs, Will Hartley, Risk Hazekamp, Michael Heilgemeir, Pauline Hisbacq, Ahmad Hosni, Sarah Howe, Marlies Hulzebos, Laura Hynd, Yaqov Israel, María J. Marín, Frank Jacobs, Loeiza Jacq, Shane Jamieson Franks, Andreas Jan Gott, Esther-Judith Hinz, Paulius Ka, Max Kandhola, Samira Kafala, Julia Keil, Sam Kemp, Seulki Ki, Stephen King, Wayne Kirk, Alina Kisina, Arnoldas Kubilius, Kalpesh Lathigra, Jenel Lawson, Tomasz Laza, George Lee, Mandy Lee Jandrell, Frédéric Leemans, Lucy Levine, Claudia Leisinger, Anthony Leigh, Robert Leslie, Ulrike Leyens, Zhen Li, Alexia Liakounakou, Dries Lips, Lana Locke, Sara Lubich, Roseanne Lynch, Davide Maione, Gill Mair, Lou-Atessa Marcellin, Diambra Mariani, David McBride, Heather McDonough, Rachel McFarlane, Georgina McNamara, Griet Menschaert, Palíndromo Mészáros, Hana Miletic, Pierpaolo Mittica, Sara Moiola, Les Monaghan, Rosario Montero, David Morgan-Davies, Andrea Morley, Lara Morrell, Vittorio Mortarotti, Johanna Neurath, Henry Nicholls, Patricia Niven, Aneta Nowicka, Chris Nunn, Davide Nuti, Miriam O’Connor, Ralf Obergfell, Katherine Oktober Matthews, Fleur Olby, Anna Ostalskaya, James Ostrer, Simone Padelli, Michela Palermo, Marita Pappa, Brijsh Patel, Rooshika Patel, Marc-Olivier Paux, Glen Pearson, Stepanka Peterka, Oiko Petersen, Gareth Phillips, Dimitri Pilalis, Luis Posada, Miguel Proença, Bruno Quinquet, Annakarin Quinto, Melanie Rijkers, Massimiliano Riso, Simon Roberts, John Robson, Steven Roche, Veronique Rolland, Anja Ross, Jan Rosseel, Holly Rowan Hesson, Paolo Rubini, Ian Samels, Joao Santos, Damien Sivier, Corinna Sauer, Hester Scheurwater, Claudius Schulze, Sean Se Hwan Roh, David Severn, Sarah Small,Ang Song Nian, David Sopronyl, Dana Stoelzgen, Eleonora Strano, Merike Sule, Mo Swiliens, Helen Sweeting, Shean Tan, Natali Tari, Marieke Ten Wolde, Simon Terrill, Mila Teshaieva, Keith Tooke, Yury Toroptsov, Abbie Trayler-Smith, John Tsantes, Klaus U. Kasperszak, Giorgia Valli, Richard Van Bennekom, Annegien Van Doorn, Evert Van Moort, Anoushka Van Velzen, Rinke Van Zanden, Ambra Vernuccio, Flyn Vibert, Robert Vigiasky, Julia Vogelweith, Vanja Vukovic, Dong Yoon Kim, David Wade, Dave Walsh, Pater Watkins, Wang Wei, Fabian Weiß, Ula Wiznerowicz, Alia Zapparova, Tereza Zelenkova, Zigmars Zilgalvis and those who wish to remain anonymous.